Skills for Care Update

Refreshed Common Induction Standards


Skills for Care has announced the refreshed Common Induction Standards (CIS) designed to better reflect current policy and practice.

The new CIS have been expanded to include 8 standards (up from 6) but are still expected to be completed within the first 12 weeks of employment.

The new standards are as follows:

Standard 1 Role of the health and social care worker

Standard 2 Personal development

Standard 3 Communicate effectively

Standard 4 Equality and Inclusion

Standard 5 Principles for implementing duty of care

Standard 6 Principles of safeguarding in health and social care

Standard 7 Person centred support

Standard 8 Health and safety in an adult social care setting

Full details about the new standards can be found on Skills for Care website.

Skills for Care has confirmed that their will be a 12 month transition period to enable care providers to integrate the new standards.

Care Academy is currently undertaking a cross-mapping exercise with a view to updating our CIS e-learning programmes once this is complete. We anticipate having the refreshed CIS standards available for use by our clients by the end of this year, keeping us well ahead of the 12 month deadline. We will provide an interim update as progress is made towards developing the new standards.

Please feel free to contact us directly if you have any questions or would like to discuss the new CIS standards in greater detail.