Learning Disability Qualification Induction Award (LDQ-IA)


The Learning Disability Qualification Induction Award (LDQ-IA) was officially launched on the 19th June in London and again on the 25th June in Manchester – at the British Institute of Learning Disabilities (BILD) “Developing Your Workforce” conference.

The Induction Award has two levels (2 and 3) and four units:

  • Principles of Learning Disability Support.
  • Your Role as a Learning Disability Worker.
  • Health and Safety in a Learning Disability Service.
  • Protecting People who have learning disabilities from Abuse.

The four units are common to both Level 2 Induction and Level 3 – the difference is the level of knowledge required – level 2 uses words like “understand” and “list” whereas level 3 uses “discuss” and “explain”. Both units will have written questions as part of the assessment programme.

From September 2007 you will be expected to have all Support Workers on a recognised LDQ Award.

Guidance from Skills For Care and BILD is that CSCI will be looking for Induction programmes to meet LDQ-IA standard rather than the more generic Combined Induction Standards in Inspections from this date.

To register your interest in Care Academy LDQ Induction Award please click here.


Care-Academy key features - Content


All of our e-learning content is designed to exceed minimum standards giving you absolute confidence in the quality of training provided to employees. It is written by industry respected Subject Matter Experts and accredited by nationally recognised Awarding Bodies including Skillsfirst, NCFE and City & Guilds.


Learner Guarantee

We guarantee that any learner who completes our learning and assessment will be ‘fit-for-work’ and will meet the learning outcomes applicable to their course or qualification. In the unlikely event of an issue being raised, we will provide access to further training from within our portfolio at no extra cost. This means we share the risk of achieving 100% compliance with you.



We update our content in line with changes to legislation at no cost to you the client. Therefore you can rest assured that our content will always reflect industry best practice.


Structured Learner Pathway

We offer a fully integrated pathway from induction, specialist course and mandatory refresher training through to fully accredited qualifications. This means your learner's can quickly progress from new employee through to qualified worker with the minimum support. This reduces your cost of ongoing support and frees up your training personnel to provide higher value training interventions.