Have you taken the Dignity Challenge?


The Dignity Challenge lays out the national expectations of what constitutes a service that respects dignity. It focuses on ten different aspects of dignity – the things that matter most to people.

High quality care services that respect people’s dignity should:

  • Have a zero tolerance of all forms of abuse.
  • Support people with the same respect you would want for yourself or a member of your family.
  • Treat each person as an individual by offering a personalised service.
  • Enable people to maintain the maximum possible level of independence, choice and control.
  • Listen and support people to express their needs and wants.
  • Respect people’s right to privacy.
  • Ensure people feel able to complain without fear of retribution.
  • Engage with family members and carers as care partners.
  • Assist people to maintain confidence and a positive self-esteem.
  • Act to alleviate people’s loneliness and isolation.

The Dignity Challenge is a clear statement of what people can expect from a service that respects dignity. It is backed up by a series of ‘dignity tests’ that can be used by providers, commissioners and people who use services to see how their local services are performing.

To take the Dignity Challenge click here.